Downtown James Brown

14 Mar


There’s this guy named Ronald in Sacramento, but most people know him as Downtown James Brown. For maybe the last 20 years, he’s been infamous for strolling the streets of Midtown, singing and dancing James Brown- and other pop icon-style for passersby.

I first met him when I used to hang out at Capitol Yogurt in high school, and he would come in and loiter until someone gave him a free cup of coffee. (Even though one time he showed me a fat wad of cash in his wallet.)

So I saw him on J Street last Second Saturday, and since I happened to have my recorder on me, I thought I better get a KDVS station ID from him. Enjoy!

A station ID is an announcement stating the call letters of a TV or radio station and the its city, required by the FCC to air at the top of every hour.

2 Responses to “Downtown James Brown”

  1. Brian March 14, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    I know James Brown. He’s a good guy. He used to perform on the patio of our bar. He’s the hardest working man on J street.

  2. juli boggs April 15, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    “KDDVS!” That man often makes my day.

Leave a Reply

