Freeform Free Design

22 Apr

Even though I love music, and even though I was an English major, I tend to dislike poetry. But I loved  “The Dead Emcee Scrolls: The Lost Teachings of Hip-Hop” by Saul Williams. I was so inspired by it that I felt motivated to recite a passage of it on my radio show.

Here’s the clip from that show, featuring “Girls Alone” by the Free Design, remixed by Nobody and featuring Ikey Owens from the Mars Volta, from the compilation The Now Sound Redesigned.

KDVS is a freeform radio station, which means DJs can do whatever they like on air, including weird stuff like this. I was really nervous reading that piece, and in fact I still get nervous after six years on air, because I still get so excited that I get to share my favorite art and artists with so many people.

Featured KDVS Premium of the Day

1) The Free Design – The Now Sound Redesigned (remixes by Madlib, Peanut Butter Wolf, Stereolab, Danger Mouse, Caribou and more)
2) Hercules & Love Affair – s/t
3) Circlesquare – Songs about Danging and Drugs
4) Clark – Totems Flare
5) David Holmes – Let’s Get Killed
6) Squab Teen – Dance America

Claim it here with a $25 pledge!

One Response to “Freeform Free Design”

  1. Melanie G April 30, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    What an excellent poem. Perfect tunes too! Thanks, Elisa!

Leave a Reply

