Malaikat dan Singa Gamelan Remix

18 May

malaikat dan singa at what the heck fest 2010
The first new band Ian and I were introduced to during our summer in Olympia was Arrington de Dionyso’s Malaikat dan Singa. They’re pretty heavy tribal-sounding kind of stuff, with all the lyrics in Indonesian. Arrington started the band to impress an Indonesian girl (it worked; they dated for a few months).

While they were fun to watch, I always wished there were more Indonesian elements in their music. Arrington studied gamelan at the Evergreen State College, but as far as I can tell he hasn’t incorporated any of the instruments.

So, I did it instead.

Max/MSP gamelan sampler

In 2008 I built this gamelan sampler in Max/MSP for my electronic music class at UC Davis. I recorded each note of the UCD Gamelan’s bonang, jenglong, saron, kecrek, kempul and gong, and made this program so that you can play each instrument with a computer keyboard. (I got an A.)

I used the sampler to make my own version of “Kedalaman Air.” It’s kind of clunky and if I had a better audio editing program and sound card, I would change parts of it. But now I just want to share:

3 Responses to “Malaikat dan Singa Gamelan Remix”

  1. Justin May 19, 2011 at 8:33 am #

    please enable downloading! it’s so beautiful… please do more!

  2. Marco February 9, 2013 at 10:43 pm #

    can i download this gamelan sampler?

Leave a Reply

