Josh Fernandez Poetry Reading

5 Jun

Spare Parts and Dismemberment by Josh FernandezLocal writer and fellow UCD English alum Josh Fernandez just published his first full-length book of poetry, Spare Parts and Dismemberment. The book release was celebrated with Mexican food and a full house Friday at Sol Collective.

My first memory of Josh was him talking trash about KDVS on Facebook. At Rob Roy’s Farewell Roast, he told some crazy story of being fucked up and Rob having to save his life or something.

Concerning his book, his mom told him, “I do think I will need for you to mark the poems I should not read. When my book arrives, I’ll have you mark ‘appropriate poems for mom.'”

Well, the last poem he read at the release was probably marked appropriate, a complete 180 from the profane persona and writing style I’m used to.

(It was also probably one of the shortest, but I got there late so this was all I could record.)

You can buy the book on Amazon!

Leave a Reply

