The 7-Up “Uncola” Song

15 Jun

5th Street Exit 7-inch EP - The Going Thing b/w Uncola

I’ve been sorting through some of my brother’s old stuff, and I found this 7-inch by a ’60s band called Fifth Street Exit. The A side is a slow jam featuring Holly Penfield, and the B side is a 7-Up endorsement song, “Uncola.”

The sleeve says “A Macy’s / 7-Up Production.” I’m sad that huge companies don’t release product-placement 45s anymore. I’m sad that 7-Up doesn’t use the Uncola campaign anymore. But mostly I’m sad that fewer and fewer kids know who Cool Spot is and what an awesome SNES game he had.

I was going to share an awful 7-Up ad from the ’70s, but this is way cooler:

5 Responses to “The 7-Up “Uncola” Song”

  1. Allan June 15, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    Huge companies do release product placement 45s still! But now they’re called “YouTube videos”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YaaHevyxvvA

    • Elisa June 15, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

      Oh god. The worst part is, that’s a pretty good song.

  2. Daniel Chartrand June 15, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    I actually found a copy of this promo under my house in a box filled with old 45’s. Pretty interesting/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The un-Big Commercial - Page 5 - Smart Car of America Forums : Smart Car Forum - September 20, 2011

    […] Originally Posted by smark I can't find the 7up uncola song. The 7-Up “Uncola” Song Adventures in Audio […]

  2. Thanks for All the Memorex | Adventures in Audio - March 15, 2014

    […] The 7-Up “Uncola” Song […]

Leave a Reply

