Canadian Parliament Cassette

27 Jun

Canadian Parliament cassette coverIn 1995, I was 9 years old and mostly stayed at home and watched Nickelodeon. But my brother was 14 and hung out with cool older kids who played in bands and teased me.

Really the only one who made fun of me, mostly for always watching cartoons, was Alec Roberts. Right now he drums for a band that’s getting a lot of local press, Nacho Business, but back then he drummed in this band Canadian Parliament.

I think they only put out this one cassette. It was recorded in 1995 at Profound Sound, which used to be in the new Bows & Arrows building.

The whole tape is pretty great, but “Jesus Called But He Got the Machine” is clearly the best and silliest (and anachronistic).

I had all the lyrics for this and the rest of the tape memorized when I was a kid. In fact, this was probably the first local underground band I listened to. Now I still stay home and watch cartoons, but I go out to local shows, too!

Canadian Parliament tape insert

Members: Alec, Aryeh Krause-Nadler (vocals, guitar), Brendan Van der Mei (bass), Chris Fernandez (guitar, vocals)

6 Responses to “Canadian Parliament Cassette”

  1. Jen August 6, 2012 at 4:43 am #

    This is TOO funny! I was their “manager” (well, as much as a 16-year-old girl can be a manager for a silly high school band) and was in the studio when this was recorded. It’s fun to hear that someone really appreciated the tape! Wow, I haven’t thought about these guys in ages, I’m sure I still have a couple copies of this tape laying around somewhere.

    • Elisa Hough August 6, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

      Cool! I was a 16-year-old “manager” for a McClatchy band once too (five or six years later, Didley Squat). You must have known my brother then, Allan. He also has a VHS of one of Canadian Parliament’s “music videos.”

      • Jen August 8, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

        I DO know Allan! I made buttons for Didley Squat. Wow, small world!

        • Elisa Hough August 10, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

          The ones with the pink smile face? I’ve been rocking that on my backpack for eight years!

          What’s your last name? How come I don’t know you too?

          • Jen August 10, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

            It was like a smiley face sun, right? Yeah, I made those. My last name is Elliot (in high school it was Kline). If you’re on Facebook feel free to look me up and send a friends requests! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Elisa Unplugged « Adventures in Audio - July 28, 2011

    […] I got an acoustic guitar. It was 3/4-sized with nylon strings, and even though it wasn’t like my brother’s friends’ electrics, I still felt pretty […]

Leave a Reply

