Rooftop Recordings: Appetite

9 Jul

Teddy Briggs aka Appetite

I’ve been having trouble posting because I’m still basking in the glory of last Fourth of July weekend, with the best friends and non-audio adventures. But we fit an amazing show in there too, featuring K Records founder Calvin Johnson, Joey Casio and my boy Appetite at the Robot Rocket Residence in Davis.

Teddy Briggs debuted a new full band for this show, with Carson McWhirter, Jesse Phillips, Addison Quarles and Sam Coe, and they frickin’ held it down. Here’s “Warn Me Right”:

Teddy was the first person to give me a lesson in audio editing, back when he was the KDVS production director and I was a lowly new DJ. We use Adobe Audition at the station, but I’ve grown to prefer Audacity in all its open-source jankiness.

The show also happened to be a going-away party of sorts for me. Thanks especially to Craig and Sally for making that happen, Teddy for his sweet pre-show dedication, and a dozen KDVS volunteers for letting me ride atop the KDVS billboard as they marched it to its new home!

4 Responses to “Rooftop Recordings: Appetite”

  1. Daniel August 4, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    : D Awesome. Thanks for sharing. Did you record the whole show? I’d love to hear it. The version of Eating Chips and Checking Email on the KDVS commercial sounds intriguing too.

    • Elisa August 5, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

      I did record the whole thing, but there was a lot of chitter chatter throughout. If you want the whole thing, I could send you a CD or something.

      And the BTBB song on the KDVS video is the same version that’s on the album, plus a clip from their “Live in Studio A” broadcast during the 2006 KDVS fundraiser (the “K – D – V – S”). They raised $1,000 in one hour! Superheroes, those guys.

      • daniel castle August 19, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

        That’s awesome . You’re the best. However you want to do it is cool with me. I know it can be a pain to go mail stuff so if you want to email me a zip file or something that would work too. My email is danielcastle2409@yahoo.com Ill send to my addy if that’s easier for you too. Thanks!! Oh and do you have any others? I’m a big appetite junkie right now haha. Trying to hear everything I can get my hands on. :P

    • Elisa August 22, 2011 at 12:46 am #

      .zip file sent!

Leave a Reply

