Spirit of Troy Marching Band

19 Aug

USC marching band practice

While we were in the multimedia storytelling bootcamp, the USC marching band (The Spirit of Troy) was in theirs. They practice on Cromwell Field, right next to the journalism building. All day. Loud enough to hear inside our classroom.

I happen to love marching band music, though, so on a lunch break I watched from the bleachers. I thought our bootcamp was tough, but we didn’t have a dude and his echo yelling at us from under an umbrella while we bake in the sun.

He made them do pushups! I wouldn’t have lasted.

It’s really weird to be at a school that’s so athletically oriented. I still feel like an Aggie more than a Trojan, but watching the band was the first time I started feeling a sense of school pride. Fight on! I guess.

Leave a Reply

