Lucky Dragons at Pehrspace

8 Sep

When I decided to move to L.A. and wrote to some music friends down here to find out about show houses and the music scene, Kevin Greenspon told me, “Sean Carnage’s Pehrspace Monday Nights are like church.”

And now I see why: The Pehrspace show this week (sixth anniversary show with Dan Deacon, Future Islands, Lucky Dragons, Jon Barba and MC Val Kilmer) had such a reassuring sense of musical community that, after six weeks of living here, I finally felt like this is exactly where I belong. Hallelujah!

Lucky Dragons at pehrspace 9-5-11

This was the first Lucky Dragons set I’ve seen that wasn’t interactive, but it was still beautiful and aurally engaging. Luke and Sarah traded off vocals, but the instrumental bits were my favorite:

One Response to “Lucky Dragons at Pehrspace”

  1. Kevin September 9, 2011 at 2:21 am #

    Told you! By the way, been checking on this every once in a while, I’m into it. See you again next time.

Leave a Reply

