Watts Towers Festival

27 Sep

close up of ceramics at watts towersMy first Los Angeles news story just got published on Intersections South LA, USC’s community journalism site focusing on South Central L.A.

I got to cover the Watts Towers Day of the Drum and Jazz Festival and take a tour of the towers, which are the most delightfully eccentric structures I’ve ever seen. It’s like real-life Dr. Seuss world! In my freeform analog radio dreamland, these are our antennas. And this drum circle plays during airbreaks:

dancing girl at Watts Towers

And this girl is our mascot! (This is my second animated GIF ever, but I don’t think I’ll ever top my first.)

One Response to “Watts Towers Festival”

  1. Bud Goldstone March 25, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    Great job you did!
    Bud Goldstone

Leave a Reply

