My Brother’s First Recording

7 Nov

One of my earliest vivid memories is riding in the backseat of my family’s apple green 1979 Volvo 240 on the way to Vancouver, B.C., with my brother, interviewing all our stuffed animals on a Fisher Price tape recorder just like this.

We probably filled up several “Now record your own!” B-sides of Mercer Mayer storybook cassettes, but only one is left in my possession. It’s titled “Way Up High Songs” and includes a decade’s worth of our cousins singing silly songs.

I’ll spare you my rendition of the Oscar Mayer Wiener song, but my brother Allan has given permission to share the first and title track. It was recorded circa 1986, when I was just a baby and he was 5, apparently during a dinner party.

I asked him once why it sounds like he got attacked by a pterodactyl at 0:07, but he couldn’t remember.

Lyrics in case you want to follow along:

Way up high in the Bat– [inaudible]
–looking at me
So I shook and shook that Batman tree
And, boy, was I scared

Way up high in the silly tree
Two little Elisas were looking at me
So I shook and shook and shook that tree
And, boy, was I scared

Way up high in the pizza tree
One little pepperoni was looking at me
So I shook and shook that pizza tree
And, boy, was it yummy!

6 Responses to “My Brother’s First Recording”

  1. Allan November 7, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    My songwriting skills and vocal talents haven’t changed a bit. Here’s my most recent recording: http://soundcloud.com/allanhough/my-needs-ty-mikal-allie-band

    • Elisa Hough November 7, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

      Speaking of dreamt up songs, remember you’re supposed to record a cover of The Flies’ “I’m Not Your Steppin’ Stone” except the lyrics are “I’m never comin’ home!”

  2. Audry November 7, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    Good times! I remember doing recordings with the neighborhood kids. We even made up our own commercial breaks.

  3. Emelia November 7, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    I used to interview my little brother on a similar recorder when we were kids. It was mostly me asking him how he felt about all of our family members after family get togethers. Basically, it was a gossip show. Good times.

  4. Wyles Morson March 21, 2012 at 7:13 pm #

    CAN U POST THE REST OF THE TAPE

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Record Your Own Story Tape | Adventures in Audio - November 14, 2013

    […] My Brother’s First Recording (also on a storybook cassette) […]

Leave a Reply

