Songs of the Arabbers

6 Jul

melvin diggs
This week I’ve been working at the Smithsonian Folklife Festival doing a variety of odd jobs. My supervisors caught wind of this blog and gave me a great assignment: interview the Baltimore-based fruit vendors, colloquially known as “Arabbers,” and record the songs they sing to attract customers.

The short article and audio featuring Tyrone Diggs-Bay were published on the festival blog today. Please check it out!

I also talked to Tyrone’s father, Melvin Diggs (above). He stands off to the side of the booth and completes all transactions. (“He likes to be in control of the cash,” Tyrone said.) He was a little shy about talking to me with my recorder, but I persuaded him to sing a song too:

One Response to “Songs of the Arabbers”

  1. Robert Clark March 2, 2017 at 9:52 am #

    Hey Tyrone
    It’s your friend from Unity international corporation Robert Clark it’s been a long time a lot of things have happened you need to call me 210-914-8097

Leave a Reply

