Cicada Duet

20 Aug

cicada
When I walked out on my balcony this evening, I soon realized I was not alone. This little cicada guy was buzzing all over, crashing into my window. Hours later, and he’s still resting on my screen door (or he’s dead on my screen door).

He reminded me to do something with another cicada I recorded during the day last month, also from my balcony. In the recording, it sounds like he’s standing right in front of the mic, but actually I couldn’t even see where he was. I don’t understand how something so small can make a sound so big!

Here he is doing a duet with a Tuvan throat singer demonstrating harmonic ranges for a spellbound audience at the Smithsonian Folklife Festival in July.  I decided they sounded pretty similar.

Leave a Reply

