Kepi at Rock & Roll Hotel

21 Aug

kepi ghoulie and kevin seconds

The first time I got to see the Groovie Ghoulies, after years of admiring their cartoon album covers in my brother’s room, I was underage and alone at Old Ironsides. It was one of those Sunday early shows, and I was on a mission from my high school newspaper: set up an interview for my local music column.

Roach agreed, without consulting the rest of the band, without realizing they would be in Europe or something when I needed to do the interview. Thinking I was justified because my subjects flaked, I didn’t turn in anything for the paper that month, and it was my first lesson in missing publication deadlines.

Anyways, I feel like I partly made up for it last weekend when Kepi Ghoulie, along with Kevin Seconds, totally killed it at the Rock & Roll Hotel in D.C. After the show, I told him I’m from Sacramento too, and he gave me a double high-five. As Ian pointed out, he proceeded to interview me, about my neighborhood and my internship and where I’m going next.

The Sacto pop punk scene, my first live music love! I hope he keeps making music for the next 27 years, and maybe one day I’ll get my interview.

2 Responses to “Kepi at Rock & Roll Hotel”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DC Summer Mixtape: Part 1 | Adventures in Audio - September 2, 2013

    […] played this when we saw him at the Rock ‘n’ Roll Hotel this summer, but this piano version really seals it as the […]

  2. Happy Birthday from Kepi Ghoulie | Adventures in Audio - March 17, 2015

    […] Mean Jeans as his backing band at Comet Ping Pong in December. It was a hella Sac throwback. Since the last time I saw Kepi was an acoustic show, nice and mellow, it was a jolt to see him thrashing around on […]

Leave a Reply

