Embassy Gamelan Practice

5 Sep

slenthem keys

When I moved to D.C. at the end of June, I emailed my ethnomusicological guidepost, the founder and director of the UC Davis Gamelan Ensemble. I asked if he had any connection to either of the gamelan groups in the District, and he said not really, but “I think you can be brave about just showing up.”

So I was, and I did.

A Javanese gamelan practices twice weekly at the most badass location: the Indonesian Embassy. It’s a huge, beautiful mansion on Embassy Row, allegedly donated by the same family who donated the Hope Diamond to the Smithsonian.

Our group is small with experience ranging from two months to a lifetime. It’s entertaining listening to director Pak Muryanto try to sing the lyrics, the number patterns of some melodies and vocables of other melodies all at once!

4 Responses to “Embassy Gamelan Practice”

  1. 吳麗卿 August 4, 2015 at 2:30 am #

    Can I quote this in my paper (mainly referring to the ‘badass’ part)? :3
    “A Javanese gamelan practices twice weekly at the most badass location: the Indonesian Embassy.”

    • Elisa Hough August 4, 2015 at 8:32 am #

      Haha, sure! (Maybe I’m too late)

      • 吳麗卿 August 4, 2015 at 9:48 am #

        Excellent! Thank you!! :)
        (I just submitted it)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gamelan Pandan Arum | Adventures in Audio - November 6, 2013

    […] My favorite thing about the Performing Indonesia festival was that it brought together people I’ve seen perform, met and played gamelan with from Davis, Los Angeles, Seattle and D.C. The two directors of the UC Davis gamelan played with Pusaka Sunda, Jessika Kenney performed as her duo, and a singer from the L.A. consulate group sang with the embassy group. […]

Leave a Reply

