oki yo! 沖縄よ!The Album

11 Feb

jojo and elisa in okinawaFour years ago today I got up at like 5 a.m. and flew to Okinawa, Japan. (I was pretty sure I remembered the date, but I double-checked my Google Calendar, and sure enough I had February 11, 2010, labeled “HOLY SHIT.”)

Our 12-week trip was part vacation with my family, part English-teaching internship with my cousin, and part musical traditions study in an oceanic cultural crossroads. It’s the reason I bought a portable recorder, the place I started recording live music and found sounds. It was the greatest adventure I’ve ever had, and it opened my heart to ethnomusicological research. You can read all about it on our travel/music blog: oki yo!

It took me over a year to synthesize all my recordings, photos and stories into one compilation album, which was my goal all along. After many hours drudging through audio content and getting frustrated at Kinko’s, I had this neat little CD package, an oki yo! time capsule in four chapters: traditional concerts, private performances, adventures, and originals.

Each of these songs has a story on oki yo! if you want to search around or in the liner notes if you want to order the album!

One Response to “oki yo! 沖縄よ!The Album”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Linkskey! 2/7/2014 – 2/22/2014 « An Easy Distance - February 20, 2014

    […] is an awesome compilation of Okinawan music from Elisa at Audiographer whom I awarded the aforementioned Liebster award to as […]

Leave a Reply

