It’s America

10 Jun

Am I dreaming?

 
Today I got off work at 8 p.m., feeling accomplished and loopy after 10 hours under fluorescent lights, and started biking home. The long way home!

I walked through the near-future site of the Smithsonian Folklife Festival, the reason we’re all working overtime. I rode past the growing skeleton of the far-future Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture. I rode up to the Washington Monument for the first time since its recent unsheathing, ran my fingers along its marble surface.

Sitting under the ring of American flags, watching the sunset over the west end of the National Mall, the Lincoln Memorial and strings of Segway tours, I was thinking, I am awfully lucky to be in the place, at this time.

And THEN this terrible country band started playing this terribly patriotic song on a stage behind me, and for a second I thought I was hallucinating.

Leave a Reply

