Sounds of the Türkenmarkt

31 Oct

Türkenmarkt vendor

Hello from Europe! I’m traveling around with my cousin this week, and my final stop is Berlin, Germany. Today we biked to the Türkischer Markt am Maybachufer, also known as the Türkenmarkt. The 200,000 Turks in Berlin make up the largest ethnic minority and the largest settlement outside of Turkey.

Twice a week, vendors take over the Landwehr Canal waterfront with this bustling market full of fresh produce, meats, spices, tzatziki, fabric, jewelry, clothing and more. Once I finished my breakfast feta and tomato wrap, and once I forfeited any sense of personal space, I started recording.

guitar dudes at Türkenmarktcrowd at Türkenmarktstuffed things at Türkenmarktspices at TürkenmarktLandwehr Canal

Leave a Reply

